Pastor Michelle.jpg

Pastor Michelle Whitlock

Pastor Michelle began her career as a church musician. She has a Bachelor’s degree in Vocal Performance from Ithaca College and a double Masters in Music Education and Sacred Music from Southern Methodist University and Perkins School of Theology. From 1999 to 2008, Pastor Michelle led music and worship ministries at congregations in Texas, Tennessee, Maryland and Pennsylvania. She returned to school for a Master of Divinity at Wesley Seminary and was ordained Elder in the Susquehanna Conference in 2012.


Pastor Michelle previously served Trinity United Methodist in New Freedom, PA and Waverly United Methodist in Waverly, PA. She is an experienced worship consultant and workshop leader. Pastor Michelle is also the creator and co-director of Youth Music Theater Camp at Greene Hills in Alexandria, PA, one of our conference camps. She describes herself a liturgist, musician, preacher, teacher, scholar and visionary.


Pastor Michelle is currently completing a PhD in Liturgical Studies at Garrett-Evangelical Theological Seminary. Her dissertation develops a practical theology for intergenerational worship in the United Methodist Church. This includes research on current liturgical practices and the study of faith formation, liturgical theology, and United Methodist history.   


Pastor Michelle lives with Guy, her husband of 16 years, and their 7 year-old daughter Laural. In addition, Pastor Michelle has three adult step-children and two young grandsons.  

Contact Information

Pastor - Michelle Whitlock - mwhitlock@susumc.org
Church Office Administrator - Jaime Brown - hawleymc@verizon.net   
Community Pantry Coordinator - Pat Broughton - hawleypantry@yahoo.com   
Music & Chancel Choir Director - Joy Stebbins 
Bell Choir Director - Celia Trayes 
Treasurer - Michelle Westbrook - treasurer.hawleyumc@gmail.com
Financial Secretary - Dianne Sandercock 
Staff Parish Relations Chair - Dave Pugh 
Chair of Church Council - Bonnie Carney 
Lay Leader - Linda Bancroft 
Honduras Mission Team Leader - JoeFaubel 
Trustee Team Co-Chair - Dave Boogertman 
Trustee Team Co-Chair - Mike Manning
Finance Team Chair - John Carney 
Endowment Team Chair - Larry Kipp
Worship Team Chair - Marcia Knisely 
Education Team Chair - Jane Cullum 
Youth Team Chair - Scott Beard 
Safe Sanctuaries Team Chair - Melissa Jones 
Care Team Coordinator - Lora Efinger 
Nursery Attendant & Sexton - Grace Frisbie 

Church leaders can be contacted through the church office 570-226-3875 or hawleymc@verizon.net